rishta online logo
Bazme Adab
Google   Site  
Bookmark and Share 
Share on Facebook
Bekas Akbarabadi
--: Biography of Bekas Akbarabadi :--

Bekas Akbarabadi


Bekas Akbarabadi, was an Indian Urdu poet and research scholar. He wrote several books including Indian mysticism, Sikh Gurus, Saint Kabir, Hindu epics and others. He received Bharat Jyoti Award for his contribution in the field of education and research. Bekas Akbarabadi real name was M. G. Gupta.

Gupta was born on 29 August 1925 in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh, India. He pursed his Masters of Arts in Political Science. He served as a professor at the Allahabad University where he taught for twenty years, he was a scholar of Persian literature, comparative religion and mysticism. He was awarded the degree of Doctor of Letters by the Allahabad University in 1965. He also served as a registrar of Agra University.He died on 12 December 2011 in Agra.

In 1985 he wrote a book called Bekas Akbarabadi. In 1992 he wrote a book called Indian mysticism.He also wrote books on the Sikh Gurus, Saint Kabir and on the Hindu epics, the Ramayana and the Mahabharata. In July 1993, he was awarded the Bharat Jyoti Award for his 'contribution in the field of education and research'. He did English renderings of the six volumes of Rumi's Mathnawi, Diwan-i-Hafiz, and the quatrains of Sarmad Kashani. Mathnawi Rumi (Masnavi) is a famous translation in six volumes written by Gupta and assisted by his son Rajeev Gupta. A collection of his poems entitled, Rahat-i-Ruh was published in 2004.


You are Visitor Number : 914